Board Members

Strategic Board Members

Gerry Altmiller, EdD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN
Associate Professor, The College of New Jersey


Gail Armstrong, DNP, ACNS-BC, CNE
Assistant Professor, University of Colorado

Armstrong, Gail color


Theresa Chenot, EdD, RN, FAAN

Associate Professor, 
Department Chair, Healthcare Quality and Safety Programs
Jacksonville University


Rebecca “Suzie” Miltner,  PhD, RN, CNL, NEA-BC
Assistant Professor, UAB | The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing


Patricia Patrician, PhD, RN, FAAN
Donna Brown Banton Endowed Professor,  UAB | The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing


Rebecca Patton, MSN, RN, CNOR, FAAN
Lucy Jo Atkinson Scholar in Perioperative Nursing

QSEN Advisers

Amy Barton, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean  of Clinical and Community Affairs, University of Colorado Denver

Jan Boller, PhD, RN
Director of  DNP Program, Western University of Health sciences

Karen Drenkard, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Executive Director, American Nurses Credentialing Center

Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF
Clinical Professor & Director  of Education-Innovation-Simulation Learning Environment, University of North Carolina

Denise Hirst, MSN, RN
Clinical Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hil

Paula Jarzemsky, MS, RN
Clinical Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Mary Joan D. Ladden, PhD, RN, FAAN
Assistant Professor & Director of Achieving Competence Today (ACT), Harvard Medical School

Wendy Madigosky, MD, MSPH
Assistant Professor & Foundations of Doctoring Curriculum Director, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Kathy Mcguinn, MSN, RN, CPHQ
Director of Special Projects, American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Shirley Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean of Research, Case Western Reserve University

Deborah Morris Nadzam, PhD, RN, BB, FAAN
Senior Consultant and Project Director, CMS Partnership for Patients Hospital Engagement Network

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Dean of Academic affairs & Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mamta Singh, MD, MS
Director  of Patient Based Programs & Assistant Professor  in General Internal Medicine, VA/ Case Western Reserve University

Mark E. Splaine, MD, MS
Director  of the Center for Leadership and Improvement & Associate Professor of Medicine, Dartmouth Medical School

Elaine Taglianeri, EdD, RN, CNE, FAAN
Professor, Community College of Philadelphia

Emeritus Board Members

Jane Barnsteiner, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, University of Pennsylvania

Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean & Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Joanne Disch, PhD, RN, FAAN
Clinical Professor, University of Minnesota

Pam M. Ironside, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Research in Nursing Education, Indiana University

Jean Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean & Professor, George Washington University

Linda Norman, DSN, RN, FAAN
Senior Associate Dean & Professor, Vanderbilt University

Nancy Spector, PhD, RN
Director of Regulatory Innovations, National Council of State Boards of Nursing

Other National organizations Strategic Initiatives QSEN membership

  1. Institute for Healthcare Improvement and the National Patient Safety Foundation  National Steering Committee for Patient Safety
  2. AAMC Integrating Quality Steering committee to advance Quality and Patient Safety Competencies
  3. Macy Foundation
  4. ACGME- Clinical Learning Environments and patient safety